Noongar Six Seasons

Learn about the Noongar seasons and get a copy of our poster.

Noongar people recognise six seasons which are characterised by weather changes and its impact on local plants and animals. For this reason they are only roughly aligned with the European 12-month calendar. Those seasons are:

  • Birak—season of the young. First summer: December-January. Associated colour: Pink.
  • Bunuru—season of adolescence. Second summer: February-March. Associated colour: Red.
  • Djeran—season of adulthood. Autumn: April-May. Associated colour: Green.
  • Makuru—season of fertility. Winter: June-July. Associated colour: Blue.
  • Djilba—season of conception. First spring: August-September. Associated colour: Orange.
  • Kambarang—season of birth. Associated colour: Yellow.

This poster depicts one plant that is flowering in Jirdarup in each Noongar season however each Noongar season is characterised not by a single plant, but by a myriad of plants and animals that are abundant at that time. The lines between the Noongar seasons are blurred to emphasise that the change in season is related to the fluctuations in nature, rather than being fixed to the international calendar.

For more kaatdijin – knowledge- about the Noongar seasons visit a dedicated website here.

To get a high resolution copy of this poster, go to our store.