2021 Competition Winners

Photos by David Ditchburn

1st Place Flora: Jewelled Tentacles - Kerry Whitworth

Kerry Whitworth receives her Award for 1st place from Alan and Vicki Barber, owners of Waldecks Garden Centre Bentley and sponsors of the Flora category.

2nd Place Flora: Buddies - Beth Baker

Beth Baker won 2nd place for her stunning photo of jarrah flower buds.

1st Place Fauna: Friends or Foes? - Emma Jones

Emma Jones poses with her winning photo of ants on a conostylis bud.

2nd Place Fauna: Waiting for a Friend - David Ashley

Brad Durrant from Biologic Environmental Services presented the 2nd place Fauna award to David Ashley for a lovely New Holland honey-eater portrait.

1st Place Landscape: Canopy and Glade - Richard Goodwin

Darrell James from PerthNRM is pictured here with Richard Goodwin, who won 1st prize for ‘Canopy and Glade’.

2nd Place Landscape: Reach for the Sky - David Ashley

David Ashley ‘Reach(ed) for the Sky’ to win 2nd place.

1st Place Black Cockatoos: Together is My Favourite Place - Veronica McPhail

Sponsor Hannah Beazley presents 1st prize to Veronica McPhail.

2nd Place Black Cockatoos: Wait your Turn - Diana Andersen

Diana Andersen won 2nd prize for her fun shot of a group of black cockatoos on the famous Jirdarup bird waterer.

1st Place Junior: Fungi Struggles - Juleen Abel

Juleen Abel poses beside her winning photo of fungi among the wood chips.

2nd Place Junior: Mindful Meditation - Mara Evans

2nd prize in the junior section went to Mara Evans, shown here with Deanne Stammers from Beaver Tree Services.

1st Place People's Choice: Yellow Happiness - Shialeigh Szymanski

Junior photographer Shialeigh Szymanski took out the Victoria Park Vet Clinic People’s Choice prize for her photo of acacia in flower. Cr Jesvin Karimi stood in for the sponsor to present the prizes.

2nd Place People's Choice: Jirdarup Mischief - Daniel Carpenter

2nd place went to Daniel Carpenter for his fun photo of a family of New Holland Honey-eaters on a branch.

And the winners are!

Congratulations to the talented winners of the ‘Images of Jirdarup 2021’ photography competition. First prize in each category was $400 cash and $100 for second prize, courtesy of our valued sponsors.

Waldecks Garden Centre Bentley FLORA Award
1st prize ‘Jewelled Tentacles’ by Kerry Whitworth
2nd prize ‘Buddies’ by Beth Baker

Biologic Environment Survey FAUNA Award
1st prize ‘Friends of Foes?’ By Emma Jones
2nd prize ‘Waiting for a Friend’ by David Ashley

1st prize ‘Canopy and Glade’ by Richard Goodwin
2nd prize ‘Reach for the Sky’ by Dvid Ashley

Hannah Beazley BLACK COCKATOOS Award
1st prize ‘Together is My Favourite Place’ by Veronica McPhail
2nd prize ‘Wait your Turn’ by Diana Andersen

Beaver Tree Services JUNIOR Award
1st prize ‘Fungi Struggles’ by Juleen Abel
2nd prize ‘Mindful Meditation’ by Mara Evans

Victoria Park Vet Clinic PEOPLE’S CHOICE Award
1st prize ‘Yellow Happiness’ by Shialeigh Szymanski
2nd prize ‘Jirdarup Mischief’ by Daniel Carpenter

Four lucky entrants in the People’s Choice vote were drawn from the box to win $50 gift vouchers from Camera Electronic and Bunnings, including Takara Sahetapy, Edgar Hilliad, and Sarah Costello.

A mighty big thank you to the competition entrants and finalists, our amazing sponsors, visitors to the Gallery, the Victoria Park Centre for the Arts, the Town of Victoria Park and all the Friends of Jirdarup Bushland for supporting this inspiring community project to celebrate our special patch of nature.

#jirdarupbushland #Vicparkarts #townofvictoriapark #perthprolab

Vote for the People's Choice Award

You have until COB on Wednesday 1st December to vote in the People’s Choice category of the 'Images of Jirdarup 2021’ competition, and be in the running to win a gift voucher from Camera Electronic or Bunnings!

The exhibition at Kent St Gallery is running until 8th December, and the winners will be announced on 4th December.

Congratulations to the Finalists

We are pleased to announce that the judging panel has completed the ‘Images of Jirdarup 2021’ shortlisting process and selected the best 60 photos from over 600 fabulous Jirdarup images!

A huge congratulations to the finalists: Maayan Rimmer, Kerstin Lembke, Ian Barlow, Fay Agathangelou, Rose Finck, Nancy Wilkinson, Beth Baker, Pat Metharom, Kerry Whitworth, Mark de Cruz, Dennis Bertoldo, Margot Hayes, Klaus Gessner, Veronica Mcphail, Jan Robinson, Christine Chester, David Ashley, Daniel Carpenter Ian Mills, Emma Jones, Sue Harper, Georgina Wilson, Radha Deepchand, Mark Adams, Naidu Kumapatla, Linda Hatton, Diana Andersen, Joanne Harris, Catherine Trainor, Richard Goodwin, Marilyn Davis-Moore, Denis Tan, Ingrid Jansen, Josephine Flannelly, Kat Weka, Alice Heppell, Lucy Jarlett, Mitchell Brookes, Shialeigh Szymanski, Sophia Anne Dungo, Luke Lipscombe, Tyler de Cruz, Mara Evans, Juleen Abel, and Bailey Robertson.

This year’s crop of glorious Jirdarup Bushland photos will be on show at the Kent Street Gallery in Victoria Park (https://vicparkarts.org.au) from 17th November to 8th December, 10am - 4pm daily.

Thanks to our brilliant judges: Georgina Steytler (Bird Photography | Georgina Steytler Photography), Cr Wilf Hendriks, Paul Jarvis (#perthprolab), and Robert Audcent (#robertaudcentphotography), and to all the entrants for participating.

Images of Jirdarup Deadline Extended

Due to popular demand and the gorgeous Djilba weather, our photo competition is extended for another four days! Hurry and get your entries in by midnight 4th October to be in the running for a share of our $3,000 prize pool, thanks to our generous sponsors!
Saturday 18th September @ Harold Rossiter Clubhouse

Nature Photography Workshop & Bush Walk

Join us for a presentation from photographer David Ditchburn, followed by a short guided walk around Jirdarup Bushland.

Early Bird Winners!

Five Early Bird entrants in the Images of Jirdarup 2021 photography competition have each won themselves a $20 Gift Card, courtesy of our supporting sponsor @Bunnings Warehouse East Victoria Park , where every day is Father’s Day!

Congratulations to these lucky winners:

Michelle White
Mark Molinari
Radha Deepchand
Nur Fadhilah Binti Mohd Fadzli
Ella Flint

There are even more cash prizes up for grabs in our photo competition which closes on the 30th September. Submit your photos to be in the running for some mega cash prizes!